Home > Eateries > Cafe Lalten, as fresh as it gets!

Cafe Lalten, as fresh as it gets!

Cafe Lalten is an innovative name and goes well with the ambiance of the cafe. The decor is chic though very homely at the same thing.

A make shift library adorns the walls on one side of the restaurant while the other side is stacked with Cafe Lalten mugs and bottles and other accessories. One can pick up any book and spend hours reading and subsequently forgetting about hoohalla outside. Infact, while we were seated there, we had enough of privacy along with a sense of tranquility that resulted in us losing track of time and reaching home late!

We were sitting in the AC section while most of the crowd was in the non-AC section probably for the WIFI available here. Probably that was the reason for the enhanced privacy, if I can say so. Oh my friend also noted that a lot of people who come to Lalten areaantels (slang for intellectuals) probably for the awesome ambiance and the WIFI.

Anyways, back to Lalten, we ordered for Watermelon Juice and Shaadi Walli Coffee. The watermelon Juice was fresh and extremely refreshing in this hot and humid weather. The coffee, besides being very frothy, wasn’t much different than a normal Nescafe coffee.

We also ordered for a Chicken Kebab Sandwich and an almond brownie. The Sandwich was fresh. It tasted fresh. The veggies were freshly cut, the bread felt fresh (and not microwave reheated bread) and the chicken was soft and tender. One single sandwich made me a fan of Cafe Lalten.  Nevermind the great ambiance and the WIFI and the hours and hours one can spend here chitchatting. The almond brownie was a first for me! And they were very liberal with the almonds which truly made it an almond brownie and not just a brownie with a couple of almonds attached.

The food was good, the drinks were refreshing and the ambiance was pleasing. The pricing isn’t too bad either and easily affordable. Lalten also serves Chaat items which is what I really wanted to try but couldn’t as the counter was closed that day! Probably will keep it for my next visit!

  1. Terry | Land of Snow
    June 4, 2010 at 9:22 am

    I never had a Chicken Kebab sandwich but it looks very yummy. Also, the watermelon drink looks really refreshing. Was the watermelon drink sweet?

    • Nishant Singh
      June 4, 2010 at 10:52 am

      Yes but it was naturally sweet 🙂 and very refreshing indeed :). You can avoid the chicken kebab sandwich here and instead go for chicken kebabs available in most restaurants in Mumbai!

  2. June 4, 2010 at 10:50 am

    wow seems like a great place..will definitely pay it a visit…

    • Nishant Singh
      June 4, 2010 at 10:54 am

      Yeah please do and let me know how the place is 🙂

  3. June 4, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Make me hungry watch this stuff.. Give me some…

  4. June 4, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    this place looks god.. will visit definitely.

  5. Diabetic foods
    June 5, 2010 at 7:36 am

    Ahh it looks like fabulous dishes, I wish I could still enjoy something like that almond brownie!

  6. June 5, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    I could eat that right now!

  7. June 6, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Love the photo, the place looks authentic,charming and inviting. I kinda get a kick out of the “Red Bull” cans in the chiller.

  8. June 8, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    Have you mentioned the address of the place somewhere in the post, did I miss it? Seems like a nice joint.
    Mindless Mumbai

    • Nishant Singh
      June 8, 2010 at 11:28 pm

      It is indeed a good place. Do visit here.

      Also, kindly check talkviews.com/food which is the new home of my blog :).

      Thanks!

  9. June 10, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    I’d love to eat there, I’m gonna visit on my round the world trip in August.

  10. June 18, 2010 at 12:19 am

    Wow…
    I love the sandwich…
    Em definitely coming again to your site… yummy… 🙂

  11. October 1, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    I love to eat at places that are comfortable and casual. This place looks like it’s both. I’ll echo what it seems others are saying; the chicken sandwich looks fantastic.

    Of course, the brownie would have a special place in my stomach too. 😀

    Thanks for sharing!
    Matt Kay

  12. October 6, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    I would be 350lbs if I followed your diet, but I sure do enjoy living vicariously through your posts and pictures 🙂

  13. February 16, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    That’s one delicious looking sandwich.
    The brownie you had is technically a “blondie” based on the photo. 😉

  14. March 9, 2011 at 9:17 am

    Chicken Kebab Sandwich… I’m hungry!
    Nice blog! Really!

  15. March 18, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    Cafe Lalten, Andheri West, Mumbai.
    i like it Cafe

  16. Jen
    May 13, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    All that food looks so good

  17. May 19, 2011 at 10:36 am

    see a sandwich … made ​​me feel hungry :).

  18. August 15, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    I want to eat them… …

  19. September 5, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    good blog, thanks

  20. September 16, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    It looks very yummy.Nice place!

  21. October 11, 2011 at 9:05 am

    The place looks simple but the food is divine!
    Thanks for sharing

  22. September 24, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    If i wasn´t hungry before i was reading this post – i am now!!! 🙂

  1. June 3, 2010 at 10:48 am

Leave a Reply

