Home > Eateries > Hangla @ Bandra – Authentic Bengali Street Food

Hangla @ Bandra – Authentic Bengali Street Food


Been around for more than two years, Hangla had escaped my rumbling stomach and my ever-growing appetite for new delicacies; but not anymore. A friend brought to my attention the new outlet opened in Bandra, opposite the erstwhile Cream Centre (anyone know what happened to it?). The foodie that I am, I couldn’t resist the call of duty of my relentless pursuit for new trials (still trying my hand with these big words, so be tolerant will ya :P). Went there twice already and haven’t been disappointed yet.

The first time I tried the Double Chicken Roll, a safe bet generally. The roti, draped with egg, included 10 pieces of chicken (OMG!) and some veggies to go with it. It was an absolute delight having the roll that never seemed to get over! The chicken was well cooked and the roti was soft, I guess because of the egg. Next time (the next day actually) I tried the Chicken Kasha and Laccha Paratha. The first thing I did like to say about this dish is that if I could have it, I did eat it everyday! The Paratha made me an instant fan and so did the spicy chicken kasha. A half plate costing INR 70 coupled with Laccha Paratha worth INR 20 was enough to fill my tummy. Makes me wonder, how much do Bengalis really eat?? Little wonder then that the place is called Hangla, meaning glutton in Bengali. If I may add a bit of Marathi here, Hangla is changla! :D.

Besides  the chicken dishes, also tried the Fish Chop (prepared from Bhetki Fish). The chop accompanied by mustard sauce, a special mustard sauce, is apparently hard to get in Mumbai. Never have I liked mustard as much as I did here (wonder what is their secret mustard recipe). The Fish meanwhile was non-smelly, less oily (surprisingly at that!) and very tasty!

I wouldn’t know Bengali food so asked my Bengali friends who positively confirmed that the food here tastes like the food prepared in Kolkata.

The prices though maybe a downer for some people but a full meal can be had for less than INR 100 which I think is a big positive. I rather spend less here and get more than vice versa elsewhere.

The Verdict

Food: 5/5 – Not since Carter Blue have I felt like going to the same place again and again for its rolls and other items. Kudos to Hangla’s for bring out the glutton in me ;).

Service: 4/5 – Loved it. Good fun interacting with the guy at the counter. He seemed a gem of a person!

Ashamed of: Not trying the outlet at Lokhandwala and Malad before!

  1. Priyanka
    December 20, 2009 at 1:37 am

    thanks a ton Nish!! 🙂 and yes u shud hve tried the food at lokhandwala and malad earlier! 😉

  2. December 21, 2009 at 2:37 am

    I have tried the outlets in Malad and Lokhandwala and just love the chicken roll, but did not know that there was one in Bandra as well, where about is it?

    • Nishant Singh
      December 21, 2009 at 8:36 am

      It is located on Linking Road opposite Amarsons/Cream Centre. Its in the same lane as the Royal Enfield showroom.

  3. January 15, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    Nishant, I bumped to this page while looking for a Bong food joint in Mumbai.

    Good that you liked bong street food. I’m citing this one in my latest post: Potpourri.

    • Nishant Singh
      January 15, 2010 at 10:01 pm

      thank you for citing my article in ur post. Would love to read up :)…

      And your website seems interesting..will chk it out 🙂

  4. Marjorie
    February 16, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    I just got back from Bangladesh and I had “foutchka” while I was there. It was sooooo good and I want the recipe for it. Can anyone help me out with this?

  5. irin chatterjee
    June 1, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    hi please let me know whether fuchkas are available at the bandra outlet.tks.

  6. Vikas
    August 5, 2012 at 12:39 am

    guys n gals this joint really sucks…they serve aloo in flavoured rice n call it MUTTON BIRYANI…. it was a real bad experience,an unforgettable 1…

  7. October 27, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    @vikas – thanks for the update 🙂 Probably the quality has gone down with time?

  1. January 16, 2010 at 12:15 pm

Leave a Reply

