Home > Eateries > Food Inn, Colaba

Food Inn, Colaba

Having heard only good things about this place, I decided to check it out on a hot sunny afternoon. Wasn’t sure what to eat so decided to try my favourite dish, the Chicken Biryani. Was in two minds before placing the order as I didn’t want to become drowsy after the meal but concerns of ‘sleep walking’ aside I went ahead with the order. Prior to the biryani, fresh onions, lemons and pickle was served along with Green Chutney.

The Biryani arrived soon thereafter along with the Raita which has to be ordered seperately. Since it was boneless, I was forced to order the Chicken Tikka Biryani which was a bit of a disappointment as I would have liked the normal biryani with boneless chicken instead of the chicken tikka pieces. Nonetheless, I began gorging on the Biryani but failed the realise that the masala was sitting pretty at the bottom. It was only at the end that I had much of the masala, which was very spicy!! Helped that the raita was next to me to save my tongue from burning!

The Biryani was good I though. The fact that it was tikka biryani was easy to comprehend as the chicken was cooked in the tikka masala which was also present in the biryani. The Raita was alright though. Would I have the tikka biryani again? I think I may just try the normal biryani next time. Besides, the spicy food and the hot sun kinda made me dizzy!!

The bill was INR 140 – INR 110 for the Biryani and INR 30 for the Raita.

Rating: Ambiance: 3/5 – Plain and simple ambiance. Did not check the A/C section which was mostly frequented by Indians!

Food: 3.5/5 – They served what they promised. Though the extra spicy masala was a disappointment for me!

Price: 3.5/5 – +INR 100 for Biryani has become the price benchmark.

  1. NeViLLe
    November 25, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Nxt time do try the crispy chicken for starters… its nice 🙂

    • Nishant Singh
      November 25, 2009 at 8:57 pm

      I shall try that next time i go provided I have company in the form of a non-veggie 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

